Marriott News Center

«Previous | Home | Next»


San Francisco 49ers QB Colin Kaepernick Wins “Greatness on the Road” Award Presented by Courtyard at “2nd Annual NFL Honors”

2nd Annual NFL HonorsTwo-Hour Primetime Awards Show on CBS Salutes Top Players & Performances From 2012 Season.

San Francisco 49ers QB COLIN KAEPERNICK is the winner of the “GREATNESS ON THE ROAD” AWARD PRESENTED BY COURTYARD for his play in the 49ers’ 31-21 Week 12 victory over the Saints in New Orleans, it was announced tonight at “2nd Annual NFL Honors” – a star-studded football and entertainment event saluting the best players, performances and plays from the 2012 season.  “2nd Annual NFL Honors” airs nationally on Saturday, February 2, 9-11 pm (ET) on CBS. 

Chosen by NFL Media analysts as the pinnacle of “Greatness On The Road,” Week 12 was just the second start of Kaepernick’s career as he would go on to help lead the 49ers on their march to Super Bowl XLVII. 

For a second consecutive year, the NFL and THE ASSOCIATED PRESS announced their annual accolades in an awards show saluting its best players, performances and plays from the 2012 season. “NFL Honors,” which debuted last year in Indianapolis, is now an annual event from the Super Bowl city.  Many of the winners were on hand to accept their awards.

Award-winning actor ALEC BALDWIN returned as the host of the show from the famed Mahalia Jackson Theater in New Orleans. The show featured a live performance from ONE REPUBLIC and New Orleans’ natives THE SOUL REBELS as the house band.

Among the awards that were announced was the prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, which recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence.

Seven of the awards were from the AP. Those awards, which include AP Most Valuable Player and AP Coach of the Year, are voted on at the end of the regular NFL season by a nationwide media panel of 50 people who regularly cover the league. The ballots are tabulated solely by the AP.
The AP is providing the list of honorees to the NFL for the program, and any advertising or sponsorship on the broadcast is being handled separately and independently by the NFL.
The full list of awards presented is:

AP Most Valuable Player presented by Papa John’s 
Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year
AP Coach of the Year 
AP Comeback Player of the Year presented by Lenovo
AP Offensive Player of the Year  
AP Defensive Player of the Year
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year presented by Pepsi Max 
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year presented by Pepsi Max
Pepsi Max Rookie of the Year 
FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year 
Bridgestone Play of the Year Fantasy Player of the Year presented by SAP 
“Greatness on the Road” Award presented by Courtyard
Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award 
Salute To Service Award Presented by USAA

Top-Tier Sponsors of “2nd Annual NFL Honors” include Bridgestone, Comcast, Lenovo, Papa John’s, Pepsi, SAP.

Associate Sponsors include FedEx, GMC, Courtyard, USAA.

“2nd Annual NFL Honors” is an NFL Network production in association with Dick Clark Productions.  For more information about “NFL Honors” fans may visit

Connect with